Hardtail Decision - need help- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2020

Hardtail Decision - need help

Hi guys,

i am actually new to the whole MTB community (been motorcycling past 7 years...).

As i am getting into more of a nature-esque type of exploration, i want to get my hands on a Hardtail. After plenty of research i narrowed it to the following 3 :

- Salsa Timberjack NX 2019
    - Specialized Fuse Comp 29 2020
    - Specialized Fuse 6Fattie 2019

I am from Montreal, so I plan on riding local Green/Blue trails, and commute to work during the week (OKA, Mont sainte Anne and such for the ones that know the area)

In that regard, the price points of the above bikes are as follows (in CAD dollars)
    - Salsa (2699$ original price, sale at 1899$)
    - 2020 Fuse Comp is brand new for 2020 and is 1999$
    - 2019 Fuse 6Fattie is 1599$ on sale.

The Fuse is an overall much better rated hardtail across the board amongst many reviewers, even the 2019 outgoing model.

Which would you recommend for an all-rounder, long term hardtail, and any suggestions are appreciated.
    I am looking into future upgradeability in longer 140mm forks if necessary, and overall better bang for the buck package.
    I am 5'9", so all the bikes listed above are available in Medium size at my local bike shops.

mbtr member
    Ok, first let's assume we're looking at the same stuffs. At 5'9 i'd err toward a large with these conservative hardtails. Especially with sliding drops like the timberjack. Hardtail geo in this segment tends to be pretty conservative, so it's still sensible to 'size up' on bike shop brands.

L timberjack- wheelbase- 1150-1167, reach 452, fork- sektor RL, brakes- sram level
    L fuse comp- wheelbase- 1188, reach 460, fork- sektor RL, brakes- sram level
    L fuse 6fattie- wheelbase- 1145, reach 435, fork- suntour XCM, brakes- tektro auriga