Fenders 'n rack, or no fenders 'n rack- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Fenders & Rack: looks cool or looks noobie?

Do you go fender/mud guard, or nothing at all?

It was raining all day today so I'm thinking about adding some fenders/mud guards. I know some hate fenders/mud guards on mountain bikes and some think it's okay. I think they look cool, especially the motocross style ones vs road/hybrid fenders. I haven't seen anyone on the trails with mud guards yet. If I added it, it might make me look like a noob...but I am a noob. Right now, I'm using my GT Karakoram 29er for everything--XC trails and the odd commute (local store or coffee shop but nothing major like touring). If I used it for more commuting, I might even add a rear rack but that might look even more noob on a mtn bike. Once I add some fenders, I'll post the pics to compare.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Fenders 'n rack, or no fenders 'n rack-img_0170.jpg  

Last edited by kevinsam; 08-13-2015 at 09:16 PM.
    Life is like mountain biking. Life comes with its challenges and joys; and for every uphill, there's also a downhill.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    Go the cut up 2 liter bottle mud guard route! If you are commuting and worried about mudbutt put one on. Don't worry about looking like a noob, after you have ridden for a while you will pass the guys who look like seasoned pros and then they will go get mud guards to be like you.

mtbr member
    SSChameleo, the 2L bottle is a great idea. It's the cheaper way for sure. If it's wet n muddy, I can pull it out and slap it on. When it's dry, put it away. I like that.

I just got a rear rack for a trunk bag and will post an update pic of it. It looks totally noobie but it fits my needs for snack breaks along the trails.
    Life is like mountain biking. Life comes with its challenges and joys; and for every uphill, there's also a downhill.

Fat-tired Roadie