mtbr member
    Aug 2018

Favorite < ~$2500 short to mid travel trail bikes?

Like many people here, I'm in the market next season for a new bike. Also like many, I don't have unlimited money.

This is the research phase. I'm asking for help here finding/discovering new models I may just not be aware of, as I'm still new to the sport, and just haven't heard of every model out there yet, even though I am actively searching.

I'm looking for a trail bike, with somewhere in the 120-150mm travel range. Most of the bikes I'm finding in my budget, are 27.5'ers, but I'd like to find more 29'er options to consider as well.

Preferences:

• Threaded BB
    • Dropper post
    • < $2500
    • Good geo
    • Fit "larger" tires (2.5 - 2.6in)

My preferences are just that, preferences. If the absolutely perfect bike comes along and doesn't fit larger tires, or has a PF BB, I'm still going to consider it. But I figure if I'm starting from scratch, I may as well start with what I'd prefer, and then go from there.

The Whyte T130 S is probably the closest thing to my ideal that I've found so far, that is within budget. Its got a threaded BB, good geo, and 130mm rear\140mm front suspension. It runs $2300, and is close to my max budget.

Other bikes that I like the look of, but that are a bit out of my price range, are the Transition Scout/Smuggler, and the Santa Cruz 5010. So I'm looking for more bikes like that... but that just cost a bit less. Although a sweet deal on one of the above that brought it down to my price range would also work. I just know thats not particularly likely.

So, with that in mind, any other recommendations from the group on great trail bikes for the money?

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Base model Transition Smuggler (in aluminum).

mtbr member
    Aug 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by pulsepro View Post
    Base model Transition Smuggler (in aluminum).
    If only! Last year the base model smuggler in Aluminum was $3k.