Do it all, XC leaning hardtails?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2017

Do it all, XC leaning hardtails?

Hello everyone, it's my first time posting in this forum. I'm an ex-roadie who has also done a ton of gravel riding and raced a little CX and XC on the mountain bike. Most of that was in my 20s. I'll be 40 in a couple weeks.

My mountain bike is the only thing I ride now, and it is basically my one bike. I ride an XC styled 29er and lately I'm finding it is kind of cramped and maybe no longer what I want to be on. I live in the midwest (US) and typically ride to and from the trails (so bike path/road/some gravel). The trails are mostly twisty singletrack, but some short, sometimes rooty/rocky climbs and descents. My city has been growing its in-town trail system and we have some short flow style loops with cool berms, jumps, and other things that I've been having fun on (makes me want a dropper). One to two times a year we visit mine or my wife's family in Dallas and Tuscon. In recent years we've taken some detours to hit up places like Fruita/Grand Junction and Bentonville.

So I think I'm looking for a hardtail with longer, slacker geo than I've been riding. Maybe reach 450+ (for a large) and HT angles around 67, probably with a 120 fork up front. Carbon (mostly because I still have some of that weight weenie ex-racer thing in me, but I'm not totally opposed to steel or aluminum). I'm open to buying new or used. My list so far includes:

Santa Cruz Chameleon
    Kona Honzo
    Transition Vanquish

What am I missing? What am I overlooking? Super curious to hear your thoughts. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jun 2017