mtbr member

Chromag Skarab or DMR Vault

I've been using Spank Spike flats for the last 3 years and overall I am pretty happy with them. They have held up well with some TLC and have great grip and low profile. My only criticism are the bulge on the crank side and almost non-existing distance between crank and pedal body. This is often resulting in the side of my feet sticking out beyond the pedal body more than I would like.

Sooo, I am considering switching to Chromag Skarab or DMR Vaults. If there is anyone who may have spent some time on one or both of these pedals, would love to hear any feedback, pros and cons. Even better if anyone has also used the Spikes and is able to provide comparison. Thanks a bunch!

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Having ridden/owned Point 1 Podium 2's, Canfield Crampons, VP Vices and 001's, Welgo MG-1's, HT AE03's, DMR V-12's and Vaults, the Vaults have proven to be best for me by far in terms of absolute grip. I LOVE their concave design and large platform. My feet are locked in on them. I know I've ridden some other popular pedals as well, but none have stood out like the Vaults. The only downside is they are a bit thick and I whack them on rocks a bit more than I'd care to. They also have a bit of spacing away from the crank that you are looking for and seem well built. I don't think you'd be disappointed at all.
    Trek Stache 7
    9:Zero:7 Whiteout
    Ibis Ripley LS
    Santa Cruz Bronson

mtbr member

Chromag Skarab or DMR Vault

ive been using these for the last few months (theyre great and only $18). basically theyre the Vaults but in plastic. their feel is nice. id get the Vaults. my last pedals were the Saints. too heavy and the axles kept loosening up... pima

Last edited by nauc; 11-10-2015 at 09:54 PM.

mtbr member
    Thanks for the feedback guys! Vault it is. Deep down that's what I wanted anyway, but then the Skarab caught my attention in the last few weeks and I threw it in the mix.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008