Building a bike from parts- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2020

Building a bike from parts

Hi guys,

I am a new MTB builder and I would like a little help to get started.

I have seen these nice Carbon Fibre MTB frames on ebay and ali express for about 200 poundish and they only weigh around 1kg! Anyway is there anything i need to look out for as to, will the wheels fit it ? what fork will fit ? groupset? do i have limitations with a frame? or once i have the frame am i free to install any parts ? it all seems a bit confusing to be honest.

any help with compatibility of forks and group-sets please and sizing.

Thanks

starway

Evolutionsverlierer
    You have to look at the frame specs to see what you can use.
    Do you have a link to the frame in question?
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Pig View Post
    Avid is spelled wrong, there should be an 'O' in there.

since 4/10/2009
    Quote Originally Posted by starway View Post
    I have seen these nice Carbon Fibre MTB frames on ebay and ali express for about 200 poundish and they only weigh around 1kg! Anyway is there anything i need to look out for as to, will the wheels fit it ?
    The spec list should tell you which wheels will fit.

what fork will fit ?
    The specs on the frame should tell you what will fit

groupset?
    This one is a more personal choice, but it does affect some other parts choices, so you need to be vigilant about individual parts compatibilities

do i have limitations with a frame?
    All frames and parts are going to have some set of limitations. You need to do your research so you are clear what those are for whatever you're looking at. Chiner carbon frames have their own limitations that will be different from some other frames you might be able to buy from your LBS, or from a manufacturer with a presence in your country. Namely WRT customer service and support.

or once i have the frame am i free to install any parts ?