All Mountain - Good climber advice- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

All Mountain - Good climber advice

Hey Guys,

Looking for some advice on buying a new bike.

I am looking for an all mountain bike, with some solid climbing, great descent, strong construction, carbon frame and great value for the price.

Here are a few of my contenders :

-Santa Cruz - Bronson
    -Ibis Mojo HD
    -Intense 275
    -Yeti SB-66

Leaning towards the Bronson for its great ascent and great specs but very opened to suggestions. I am also not a pro racer, but looking into taking up the sport. I am a runner and climber but its been some time I rode a bike. Looking however for something that will last me years to come so my skills can level up with the bike.

Looking for under 4 k, any recommendations on where to buy, price matching, crazy deals or waiting for Black Friday I am all ears !

Also looking to buy online, so some brands like Specialized and Trek are out.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Can't give actual experience as I haven't ridden of any of the new 27.5" wheeled bikes, but DW link bikes have a reputation for being great climbers (and my 5spot certainly is) so maybe add the Turner Burner to your list. The basic TR build comes in at $3499, which would give you a little cash left over for any upgrades you want.

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    Bronson Carbon S. What's the delima?

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Thanks guys!

mtbr member
    You need to add the Devinci Troy to the list. Great value, carbon (lifetime), great platform....
    Santa Cruz HT2

mtbr member
    Intense 275 are VERY similar in linkage, geometry, etc - almost the same bike. So look for value between the two.
    Second, you might want to try 5010 as well. Slightly shorter travel than Bronson BUT lower bottom bracket (and corners better - I've ridden both) and climbs a little better. If you think you'll be more into technical and freeride riding than stick with the Bronson between these two.