Snow Riding in Alaska- Mtbr.com

May 2008

Snow Riding in Alaska

Wow, I feel like the new guy. The newbie who hasn't got a clue about biking... I've been riding for something like 17+ years, so it's been a while since I felt so clueless about a topic. Sort of fun.

So here it goes...

I'm located in North Carolina, we seldom get snow where I live and I want to experience snow riding in Alaska. So I'm interested in hearing any and all tips, warnings, precautions, must do, shouldn't do, must see... anything you can throw my way to help me understand what snow riding in Alaska is like and about.

So here I am a newbie... perfect fodder for bashing.
    Cheers!

Bikes are good

You should check

www.arcticcycles.com

He's got snow bikes you can rent, and tons of info on places to go check out.

mtbr member
    Dec 2008

P and P

Pugsley and Pogies are key.

Pugsley being surly's mutant fat tired bike. I suggest single speed to keep things simple

Pogies being the big insulated handle bar covers.. They make an amazing difference for keeping your hands warm.

I also recomend growing a beard. It works so much better for me than any balaclava or face mask I've ever come across.

is buachail foighneach me
    don't sweat. and if you do sweat, don't stop moving. remove layers for climbs and areas sheltered from the wind, add them for downhills and more open areas.

alot of it is about finding what works for you. the snow riding you'll do in nc will likely be completely different than most of the snow riding that happens up here after october. from november through april/may, we're almost entirely on snowmachine trails, which have a very different dynamic than rocky singletrack with a few inches on top.

mtbr member

Pma