Nokian Extreme 294 29er: not hooking me up- Mtbr.com
    No, that's not phonetic

We the people ... Nokian Extreme 294 29er: not hooking me up

Literally, not hooking me up. I have had this odd sensation for the whole time I have owned them that they just don't provide nearly the traction on ice that I have come to expect from Nokian studded tires. I own six Extreme 296, four Freddies Revenz, four Hakka 300, two Hakka 240 tires, all in 26" size, and now also a set of the 29er 294s. That's 18 studded tires total and I've been riding them here in Kodiak for a good 10+ years, so a reasonably good basis for comparison. The 29er 294s come in dead last in terms of traction on bare ice. Tonight I rode up the road that climbs the mountain behind town, and it is a sheet of beautiful, six-inch-thick, nearly bubble-free ice the whole way up. A few minor vehicle ruts, but otherwise quite smooth. I rode up and down twice, once with the 29er 294 tires on my Sultan, and a second time with my Feddies Revenz 26 tires on my 5-Spot. I put the same pressure in both front and both rear tires. The Freddies have 336 studs per tire, so about 15% more studs than the 294s.

Seated climbing on the Sultan at the steeper sections was really dicey. I had to slow down and downshift and pedal smoothly to keep the back from spinnng out. Stopping is not an option since I don't have studs on my shoes and putting a foot down basically means falling down. Standing to climb ANY portion was totally out of the question, and if I even eased off the saddle, the rear tire would start to lose grip. The Freddies on the other hand showed little inclination to spin out unless I assumed a choppy pedal stroke, and I could run a gear or two higher. I could even stand to climb (using very smooth pedaling) on the less steep sections, and the rear only lost traction briefly with each pedal stroke (picture climbing on gravel).