INTRO and Campbell creek trail commute- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2015

INTRO and Campbell creek trail commute

Hi, I am new to Anchorage and will be using the Campbell Creek trail for my commute to work. Unfortunately, my shift ends late at night and I was wondering if this trail is safe to commute back home. Any comments on this trail?
    Thanks!

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    I don't currently live in Anchorage, but during my time there did a late night commute on the Campbell Creek Trail at night. Perhaps the area has changed from a law enforcement standpoint, but during my time there it was fine relative to people.

That said, get a solid front light, and better yet a helmet light too. a set that will fully light your way. Past sundown it is moose-o-clock, and they disappear in the middle of the trail without light. In mY opinion, accidentally hitting a 1000lb animal with a flair for standing on you until the squirming stops, is the biggest safety issue.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Then there are the 1000 pounders that eat you while you're still squirming. Sorry I couldn't resist. That trail should be pretty safe period.
    Latitude 61

mtbr member
    Apr 2014
    For the most part the MU trails in Anchorage are pretty safe. However there have been some isolated incidents of people being assaulted while cycling on the trail (namely myself).
    These trails get a fair amount of traffic, even later at night. I think the more cyclists using the trails the safer they will be.
    My advice would be to make sure you stay aware of others on the trail and always have a cell phone in close reach. Bear spray is not a bad idea either to have on hand in the off chance of a bad encounter with wildlife or lowlife.
    Despite all of that I think you are much more likely to be seriously injured in or by a motor vehicle than get hurt on the trail, so the MU trails are a great way to go.

mtbr member