This was sent to the Icebike Mailing List last year but seeing as how this list seemed slow I thought I'd post it. By the way Icebike is the best site I've seen by far for information about winter biking. Amazing amount of information, hell they even had a metallurgist run comparison tests on different studds.
www.enteract.com/~icebike

Sunday afternoon Sandy and I went for a snowy ride on Love Rd. pipeline trails. Nursing a sore back meant a nice mellow meander was in order. Put Extremes-Snow Cats on her bike and mounted the M&G Nokians on my summer bike; first time I'd tried studs on regular width rims. Light snow and temps in the upper 20's F helped make for a relaxed ride as we rode down to the water crossing. We carried our bikes across the ankle deep water and rode on. (http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/awinte...&.dnm=d1bc.jpg) On down to the pond where Sandy cleaned a short section of trail that had given her (a novice mtn biker and complete novice to cold weather) trouble before. We came out on the pond and I gently rode out on the edge. I'd ridden here last week with the Extreme-Snow Cat combo, but now with the M&G's and snow hiding the ice, timidity ruled. Hmmm, tires feel ok but the little bit of snow on the ice sure made it slippery and what a disadvantage to not be able to see the thin ice. As I started circling the pond Sandy came over and followed my tracks. We came to some water where I stopped and just as I was telling her to be careful stopping, she went down hard as her foot touched the ice.