Who's riding an Airborne 29"er?- Mtbr.com
    highly visible

Who's riding an Airborne 29"er?

I hardly ever see mention of the B-29 or Dreadnought on this board anymore, and I was just curious how many of you are actually riding (or have ridden) them. I hadn't noticed the lack of reviews until now because I'd decided Airbornes were too expensive for me, but I just learned that I qualify for a substantial discount. It would still be expensive, but suddenly within range of something I could do next year.

So who's got one? Early reviews on this board were extremely positive, talking about great handling, climbing and a cushy ride for a hardtail, but nothing recent. Still as good as they seemed at first?

Also, some SS-specific questions: I have little experience or knowledge of how well horizontal dropouts work on Ti frames, though they work perfectly well on my steel KM. Any issues with axle bolts or QRs not gripping the dropout material as well? Also, anything unusual about the Airborne dropouts? Seems odd that they're not visible on the website photos. And the stated chainstay length is 17.5 - is that with the wheel all the way forward? That is a bit long for a 29" SS bike, so any issues with climbing traction?

Finally, SS specific question for Mikesee: I noticed that at one point you had an early B-29 set up as a singlespeed. Was it set up with a tensioner, vertical dropouts with no tensioner but it worked out just right, or was it a special one-off with horizontal dropouts before they came out with the Dreadnought?

Thanks in advance for any and all feedback.

- Dan

featherweight clydesdale
    I have clearance issues with the Bonty 2.2. rubbing when climbing. No problems with 2.1's, but I wouldn't expect to run any 2.3 unless Airborne has redesigned the chainstay. The geometry is custom, so I won't ramble about the ride itself.