Salsa El Mariachi 3 vs Airborne Goblin- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Salsa El Mariachi 3 vs Airborne Goblin

Hello everyone. I have been frequenting these forums trying to make an informed decision on the purchase of my first bike and also one for my girlfriend. I have read a lot of great stuff on here and changed my mind completely on the price range that I am looking at. I only wanted to spend around $500 but now im am looking in the $1000 to $1500 range to get features that I think I want. I am a big guy (6'3 235lbs) and will be riding on gravel roads for exercise and also some trails on the weekends but nothing too technical. I would like to get into more technical riding but not until my girlfriend and I are ready for it. I have lots of experience riding motorcycles on trails and have been out with friends on mtb and know that I enjoy riding a lot so I am thinking that investing a little more and getting decent equipment from the start will save me money in the long run because I am really bad about dumping money into upgrades in every hobby I have ever had. I have always wrenched my own motorcycles so I am fairly mechanically inclined so i thought about going to the internet route and getting a better bike for the money but I also have three big lbs in my area that carry Trek, Giant, Salsa, Specialized, Felt, Scott, and Cannondale. Ive been to all three and the bikes that stood out for me were the Salsa El Mariachi 3 in the $1400 range and the Trek Mamba in the $1000 range. They both felt good to me in 21in frames. I think that I would be happier with an air fork so I have kind of ruled out the mamba and really liked the 2x10 gearing on the el mar and think that it or the Airborne Goblin would be the best for me. I know one is steel and has a tapered headtube and the other is aluminum and has a higher end fork and better components. Which would you recommend for me and why? I greatly appreciate all input! Thanks!

mtbr member
    Feb 2011