New to the Forums and Airborne- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New to the Forums and Airborne

Hi everyone.

Just wanted to stop by and say hello as I am new to both the forums and Airborne in general. Just got my Goblin a few weeks ago, and so far I am loving it.

New to the Forums and Airborne-goblin.jpg

mtbr member
    Nice touch with the purple grips - keep the pics coming!

eff
    mtbr member
    Welcome and enjoy your new ride!

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Went on my fifth ride today, and this happened:

New to the Forums and Airborne-bent-wheel.jpg

I also got to experience what it's like to go over the handlebars. I've got to say I'm not a fan of it.

eff
    mtbr member
    Wow😱. I wonder if some of the spokes had loosened up. That does happen.

mtbr member
    I don't know what caused it to be honest. I'm pretty new to the sport, and was trying to go off a small drop for the first time. I went down maybe five to six inches, and seemed to land fine. Then as I rolled forward, I hit the bent spot and went over the bars.

It could have been improper technique with keeping my weight too far forward, being too heavy at the moment (I started biking to lose weight), loose spokes, defect in the wheel, or any combination of the above. Is there a good way to check the spokes?

Either way, a new wheel is in my future. I'll see what my LBS recommends for my weight, and maybe go ahead and swap out the back too. It just sucks because despite being sore from my landing, I want to go back out and ride some more.

eff
    mtbr member
    My guess is the spokes needed adjustment. I just give mine an unscientific hand feel test now and then. Personally I have not had and issues on my mtb but I did on my motorcycle.

I'd be curious what you LBS says.

mtbr member