Hardrock to Evo- Mtbr.com

Thread: Hardrock to Evo

mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Hardrock to Evo

I'm pretty new to riding, started in 2013 and really started to enjoy it all of 2014. I currently own a Specialized Hardrock Sport (26" Wheels/vbrakes/17.5") and it get's the job done, but I'm really looking to sell that and purchase something that would fit me a bit better.

I ride anything from technical roots/rocks, climbing with tight switchbacks, to fast and flowy singletrack. If anyone is from WI, here's some examples of the types of trails.

Baird Creek Mountain Bike Trail in Green Bay, Wisconsin || SINGLETRACKS.COM
    Mountain Biking | Nordic Mountain

Worried that going from a 26" to a 29", will make a lot of those switchbacks more difficult and not be able to toss the bike around like I currently do. Can any Evo owners comment on this?
    Also on the climbs, worried that the larger diameter of the tires will make it that much more noticeable compared to my current bike.

For my skill of riding, and to match it to my current bike, the Seeker or Goblin would probably be better choices, but I feel that the Evo geo and 120mm fork will make any trails, that much more enjoyable....just feel that if I go with the Goblin, I'll just regret I didn't get the Evo...seems like a fun bike that can do it all- technical, climbing, & bombing down trails.

So can anyone that went from a basic 26" to the Evo comment on any of this?

Thank you!

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    My son has a hardrock which I have ridden and I own a seeker. First off, I agree with buying the EVO, it is set up for trail really well compared to a seeker, and the price is not that much more.