Guardian Tire Swap- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2015

Guardian Tire Swap

Anyone have reccos on new tires for the guardian? Currently running the kenda small block 8's that came with, but in multiple situations have lost confidence in grip, both going uphill on loose stuff, and downhill on just about anything other than hardpack.

Just wondering what all you've swapped out for and whether or not you were happy with the swap.

CoolArrow
    I used Kenda Nevegals with good results. Contintental Trail Kings also. Loved them both, the Nevegals seems maybe a bit heavy, if that's a concern. I'd run either one again though.

Others may suggest Schwalbe, I have no personal experience. Friends have run them, and durability has been in question...
    Cool BandolArrow

Jerry Hazard website

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    I changed my Seeker's tires from the 2.2" AKA Geax (similar to the small blocks) to 2.35" Nobby Nics (2015 model, very different from previous version). The Geax measure about 2.25 and the NN's measure about 2.30" so they fit fine on the bike. The tires transformed the bike into a hugely more capable trail machine. I can run around 20 psi presssure compared to more like 30 psi before. For the pavement, I like the Geax's better, but its a whole other world in the dirt. Not to be too critical of Airborne, as my experience has been great with the Seeker, but they advised against the tire swap and were completely wrong. Not sure if I am faster on the new tires, but I am sure having a lot more comfort, traction, and fun on the trails I ride.

Another tire that gets good reviews is the Maxis Ardent. Check out Dirt Merchant Bikes website. He has several back to back tire comparison tests on his site. That is where I got the NN's from.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Bttocs View Post