Airborne Marauder DH/FR?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Airborne Marauder DH/FR?

Is the Airborne Marauder really a downhill/freeride bike, as it is listed, and for only $699?

I know alot of you wouldn't spend less than thousands for a dh/fr bike, but this is in my price range and I am a beginner, won't be doing any big jumps or drops, and will be riding on pavement alot and uphill as well. So technically you would probably say I am needing an all mountain, but I want to get into downhill and want to know how this bike will hold up.

Please, don't compare it to your multi-thousand dollar rigs, compare it to the Sortie, Mission, Giant Yukon FX, and whatever else is in that price range. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    you get what you pay for...but if your just go on pavement....700 bucks is a lot for a around the town bike.

suspension is kinda crappy, components are on the lower end, wouldnt trust the brakes...etc,etc...

more info if ur really that interested in it: http://www.pinkbike.com/news/airborn...tter-2010.html

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    The "new" Airborne line are really rebadged Iron Horse frames. Not a bad thing.
    This bike was previously known as the Iron Horse Warrior.

I rode a Iron Hose Yakuza (now the Airborne Taka) for 3 seasons, handed it to friend who's been riding it for 2 more without issue.

If it's in your price range, and will get you out on the trails, I say go for it. Parts are always upgradeable in the future.

Moose Member
    A dude just wrote a review and said

"Strengths: this bikes amazing!! its 32 pounds has 8-10 inces on the back and 12 on the front!"

lol I doubt it has 12 in front but idk, he seemed to like the bike...

Committed
    Quote Originally Posted by yamahaalex37
    Is the Airborne Marauder really a downhill/freeride bike, as it is listed, and for only $699?