Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Upgrading my 29er?

2K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  Legbacon 
#1 ·
Hey guys I am a beginner into mountain biking, got a Spec Rockhopper Sport 29er, helmet and a pair of gloves. I was thinking now about upgrading to a shorter stem ( got a 70mm and was looking at 30/40mm) and a little bit wider handlebars ( 720mm came with the bike and I was looking for a 760/780 mm ) Do you think it will be a good idea to upgrade these components right now ?

#2 ·
Welcome.

If you're a beginner make sure you spend some time building skills, fitness and experience so you really know what upgrade will buy you some benefit or advantage.

Look for IMBA chapter, clubs or group rides by you. You'll probably learn a lot that way and can maybe try or see other stuff in action before you make a purchase.

I'm 5'10 and have 720, 750 and 760 bars. All work fine. Bigger would be overkill for my size and getting through tight spots. Why try first? Friends the same size riding the same trails feel just the opposite as I do about bar length and stem length.

I don't know your bike but know top tube length is part of what stem is right for the 4 bikes I share with my wife. 70 mm is perfect for the more traditional yet modern bikes. The radically modern long, low and slack bike is best with a short stem. Short stem on one of our bikes feels as wrong as it feels right on the other. You want what' best for your bike and riding and you more than just seek a specific size without reason.

Have fun learning and riding!

#4 ·