Sun Ringle - Charger Comp vs Charger Expert Wheelset- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2010

New question here. Sun Ringle - Charger Comp vs Charger Expert Wheelset

Thoughts on whether the extra money is worth it for the experts over the comp versions.

Straight pull spokes vs J bend, and slightly less weight for the experts, not sure about the bearings.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Pros get straight pull spokes. Experts nor Comps do not. I believe bearings are the same for Expert and Comps. And the only real benefit of the Experts now is the convertible rear hub. The Comps are only QR. I've been running the 2011 Experts (now labeled as Comps) for 3 years now and still love them, especially if you can find them under $300.

Kitty! Kitty! Kitty!
    Wait for the Comps to go on sale at Nashbar for $200. Totally worth it. Comes with sealant, tape, skewers, valves and all the end caps for qr, 15mm ta, 20mm. (front only). Sweet deal. If you don't care too much about the extra weight, go with the Comps, especially in the $200 price range.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012

Sun Ringle - Charger Comp vs Charger Expert Wheelset

Quote Originally Posted by GelatiCruiser View Post
    Wait for the Comps to go on sale at Nashbar for $200. Totally worth it. Comes with sealant, tape, skewers, valves and all the end caps for qr, 15mm ta, 20mm. (front only). Sweet deal. If you don't care too much about the extra weight, go with the Comps, especially in the $200 price range.
    I got this deal and this is a great set for the money. Tire setup took five minutes.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    seems the only difference is as follows,
    Expert has Straight Pull so should be a stiffer wheel, spokes harder to come by though
    Save some weight with the Experts but not significant
    Neither set has a convertible rear hub, QR only

yeah the nashbar deal is great, watch no more 20% off now that the season is here

mtbr member
    Jan 2012

They'll be on sale again in like 30 minutes ...