Replacement for Ardents 29x2.4- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2018

Replacement for Ardents 29x2.4

So I have been riding Ardents for a bit now and I am not totally in love with them. They don't seem as predictable as other tires I have tried on demo bikes recently.

Most of the trails around me are hardpacked clay with plenty of rocks and roots. The bike in question is a Ragley Big Wig. I'd say I enjoy the downs more then ups but I am still learning and am not the fastest or most aggressive rider yet.

I was thinking about Chunky Monkey front and either a Rekon, Forekaster or Minion SS rear for normal trail riding. I'd like a bit more grip particularly up front then Ardents but not as draggy as the the Minion DHF/DHR I have tried. I rode a Big Honzo with Rekons but those were 2.8s so I figure they have more grip then 2.4 Rekons.

How would these compared to Ardents? And then Minion SS, Forekaster or Rekon out back? Or another brands tire out back? I am pretty settled on the Chunky Monkey up front.

Edit: Meant to post this in wheels and tires. Can a mod move this?
    Ragley Big Wig, Sunday Soundwave (BMX), 91 Schwinn High Plain (single speed "gravel" bike), Nashbar CXSS (on trainer)

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    The Rekon is a good rear tire for what you're looking to do. Rolls well and has better traction than the Ardent IMO. You can have a beefier front tire without much of a penalty in terms of rolling resistance. The back tire is more important in that regard. The Aggressor might be another good choice for a rear tire.

Have you thought about WTB? The Vigilante/Trail Boss setup has good traction and rolls decent for a more aggressive setup. I'm currently running a Magic Mary front with a Hans Dampf rear, but that's on a trail/enduro rig. Probably more than you're looking for.

mtbr member
    Mar 2018