I believe its time for some upgrades- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2010

I believe its time for some upgrades

Hey all!

I have been riding a Cannondale SL 4 for about 8 or 9 years and have put thousands of miles on it. The fork doesn't lockout anymore, the shifters are working alright all things considered, the wheels have been trued 100's of times. I know bikes are always getting better and lighter but I can't bring myself to drop a couple grand at this point in time for something new.

What do you suggest for order of upgrades and what should I be looking into? I've never really upgraded the 9er because I always dumped money into my DH bike that I recently unloaded.

mtbr member
    I would concentrate on maintenance. Rebuild the fork (I don't think I've locked out a fork in 10 years!). Tune it up. Probably time to replace the bearings in the wheels. That sort of thing. Save up for a new bike.

You've gotten your money's worth out of this one. Add in enough upgrades and that will no longer be the case.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    There is no doubt I got my money out of this bike, I couldn't even guess how many miles i've rode it. The maintenance has certainly been done or it would have died by now. This is going to sound like such a noob question.... What is the advantage of a new bike vs upgrading this bike? I custom built my dh bike... it was expensive but a lot of fun. I love building wheels the most. I feel like the frame of my bike is fantastic. It's aluminum with very comfortable geometry. Is there any reason to not continuously upgrade and rock this bike vs upgrade to a new one?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by tdmopar59 View Post