hand built vs prebuilt wheels- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

hand built vs prebuilt wheels

K I'm a noob on this forum but I've been riding for quite a while. Just bought an anthem x 29er. Love the bike but looking to shed some rotating weight. Is there any advantage to going with a prebuilt wheel such as Easton or Stans verses going with a hand built set from like Speed Dream or another builder? Can a set of hubs from stans or off the easton wheels be rebuilt 6 times like my old xtr hubs on my other bike?

Carbon & Ti rule
    Quote Originally Posted by jarwes View Post
    K I'm a noob on this forum but I've been riding for quite a while. Just bought an anthem x 29er. Love the bike but looking to shed some rotating weight. Is there any advantage to going with a prebuilt wheel such as Easton or Stans verses going with a hand built set from like Speed Dream or another builder? Can a set of hubs from stans or off the easton wheels be rebuilt 6 times like my old xtr hubs on my other bike?
    There can be some real big advantages to hand built wheels if you choose well,

Tell everyone more about your budget & what you want ot of a wheel & they can help you more.
    I have a 6 Berth & 2 Berth Motorhomes that I rent out . They are based in Tauranga, New Zealand

mtbr member
    Pre-built wheels may be built by a machine, built by a machine and then tuned by hand, or hand built from scratch. Custom built wheels are hand built from scratch. The most important thing to good performance and longevity is that the wheels be properly tensioned and stress relieved, which is done by hand. You can get this in all but the machine-only option, assuming a reputable source. Machine-only wheels can be taken to a builder for tuning, but that may negate any price advantage.

The are a number of online shops that offer wheel building service at good prices. I've had positive experiences with Universal Cycles, Treefort bikes and Speedgoat. Shop around, ask questions.