Front Wheel Upgrade: XR4 vs Ardent- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Front Tire Upgrade: XR4 vs Ardent

I recently bought a Marlin 6 and it comes with Bontrager XR2s but I have found the front end not to be the best and the tires seems to eager to slide when pushed. Would you recommend the XR4 or the Ardent for the front?
    Last edited by mattmers; 04-25-2020 at 11:15 PM.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    I like the xr4

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I had Ardents on my old 26" but i Have not tried the xr4s so I don't have a comparison.

slow
    I didn't notice a big difference in performance between them for my soil conditions and riding style, so personally I'd run whichever was least expensive and easiest to get. Those things being equal, I might lean slightly toward the XR4. I don't, however, care for the Ardent Race and wouldn't recommend it.

mtbr member
    Oct 2014
    PLEASE do not put a 2.4 Ardent up front. When I started riding I went through a period where I thought i just sucked at cornering, but it was that damn tire. It'll just wash out in the dead zone between knobs and the outter knobs aren't strong enough to hook up after the dead zone.... aka your face in the dirt. The XR4 is a much better option... or a 2.4 Rekon... or a lot of other things. I actually like the ardent race about 100x more than the Ardent.

But hell.... if you really want to give it a go I have a 29x2.4 ardent that is damn near new that you can have for the cost of shipping

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    The Ardent is a horrible front tire. Slides out / washes out easily. I used to run Ardents front and rear and switched to XR4 (f) XR3 (r). Huge difference in grip and still rolls great and lightweight. Ardent worked fine as a rear tire.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Anyone know where I can get a decent deal on an XR4 29x2.4? And does it matter if I run 2.4 in front and 2.20 (Stock) in the back?

mtbr member