Durable XC tire recommendations.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Durable XC tire recommendations.

Never owned a tire under 2.3 in width nor a XC racer. My background is purely trail/park/enduro/DH riding.

I am in the process of building up a steel XC bike to participate in local XC racing events (just for fun) and endurance events.

Looking for XC tire recommendations that is durable. I believe my frame width capacity is 2.2 in the rear and front (Rockshox SID RL) is around the same. Rims are quite narrow (I think 19mm?).

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Maybe the Ikon 2.2 with EXO. They're undersized to begin with, but have good traction, braking, and roll well.

mtbr member
    You can also try looking at some Specialized tires like the Ground Control and Fast Trak. I ran the GC and FT for a while and they worked pretty well in a lot of conditions. The'll be undersized in whatever tire width you choose on a 19mm IW rim.

mtbr member
    Sep 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by NuckaMan View Post
    Never owned a tire under 2.3 in width nor a XC racer. My background is purely trail/park/enduro/DH riding.

I am in the process of building up a steel XC bike to participate in local XC racing events (just for fun) and endurance events.

Looking for XC tire recommendations that is durable. I believe my frame width capacity is 2.2 in the rear and front (Rockshox SID RL) is around the same. Rims are quite narrow (I think 19mm?).

Thanks.
    What are your local trails like? If you are used to cornering aggressively, something like a Schwalbe Rock Razor that is a combination of pseudo-semi slick with aggressive cornering knobs could be good for you.

mtbr member
    Jun 2020
    I've had relatively good experiences with Maxxis Ikons 29x2.35 3C/EXO/TR (740g) as well as Maxxis Rekons 29x2.25 3C/EXO/TR (670g) both on 25mm ID rims on my XC rig.