Best chinese carbon seatpost..need help navigating the Chinese carbon maze!- Mtbr.com
    I like turtles

Best chinese carbon seatpost..need help navigating the Chinese carbon maze!

Which one is the best? They all look the same on eBay but there are slight differences in the price...which one is quasi-reputable? Looking to put this on my road bike. Any advice or recommendations for who to get it from. ~$30 is a great deal.

Thanks!
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro AF

West Chester, PA
    Sep 2006
    I don't know. $30 doesn't seem like that great of a deal considering how crappy the clamp is and the weights aren't that good.

mtbr member
    yep, as good as the frames and certain things are, the seatposts aren't that great. The bolt system slides and won't hold tension on your saddle...most have to buy the bontrager clamp. And the weights are usually high.

Spend more and get an ec90, ritchey, etc.

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    The clamp is fine. Rough up the carbon surface with sand paper. Also the it helps if the clamps are parallel. From one rail to the other. I had to replace the bolt with a decent cap head.

ballbuster
    I'm not a fan of carbon seatposts. I vertically cracked a Specialized by overtightening it, and it wasn't that tight... and it didn't weigh any less than those $25 cheapo alloy ones you can get on fleabay. It kept slipping, so I kept upping the bolt tension.. and it wasn't that high. CRICK!!

I got one of the 'Turner' branded two bolt seatposts, but I think Turner had nothing to do with it, except for having their name a logo poached. It's 220 grams and plenty strong under my 210 pound behind on my hardtail singlespeed. It's also internally machined out in an oval, like Thomson seatposts. It basically looks like one of those KCNC lightweight posts.