Anyone want to talk tires?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2019

Anyone want to talk tires?

So Iím getting new tires for my Rockhopper and looking for some thoughts. I ride trail in Fort Worth which means pretty varied weather from very dry to sort of muddy, some flowy with some technical but looking for something grippier than stock tires. My two thoughts after research are:

front: Maxxis DHR II 2.4

back: Maxxis Aggressor 2.3 (or another Maxxis?)

OR

front: WTB Vigilante 2.5

back: WTB Trail Boss 2.4

thoughts???

aka bOb
    Maxxis Dissector front and rear.

banned
    Oct 2019
    I would forget about WTB. Had them before and never again. Maxxis or Vittoria IMO for the given price, always better. Schwalbe are great but often a bit pricey. People praise Continentals, but I have no experience.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Specialized has some decent tires and the price is better than other big brands. I ripped a knob off a Hans Dampf and replaced it with an Eliminator (on the rear). It has really good traction and similar protection to an EXO casing Maxxis. The Butcher is a chunkier option, but they have a 2.6 Eliminator that would probably work well on the front. A Specialized 2.6 is closer to a 2.5WT by Maxxis.

Plenty of good options out there. Pick what looks good to you and have fun.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    If going that aggressive why not just do DHF front and DHR rear? or DHF front aggressor rear.

What do you have now and what specifically do you want to improve upon, while aggressive tires will help a ton in some cases you will also feel the increased rolling resistance and weight potentially.
    XC, Road, XXC, Endurance, Mtn, All-Mtn, Cross, Gravel, just go have fun on 2 wheels!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Potroman View Post
    thoughts???
    Continental Trail King in 2.4" front and back.

https://www.jensonusa.com/Continenta...g_q=trail+king
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com