mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Anybody go from 30mm internal rim width to 25?

I've been running Blunt 35's for a few years and finally discovered cracking around the spokeholes in the back, so... time for a new rear rim. These rims have been more prone to sidewall bends/dents than any other rim I've run. I'm sure at least some of that is due to operator error but I'm also sure that the aluminum is on the soft side. I've tried to straighted out enough sidewalls in my day to know the Blunts feel softer than average. But anyway, I love the volume I get with 2.4's on these rims. The traction is great and the suspension the provide for my rigid SS is appreciated. But, instead of jumping right back at the Blunt 35, I started shopping around a bit and discovered a nice weight savings if i were to drop back to a 25-27mm internal width rim. I'm worried though about ride quality and durability.

Has anyone here gone from a rim like the B35 but then switched back down to a narrower rim like the WTB KOM i25, the Blunt SS, the DT EX471 or a Stans Arch MK3? If so then what were your impressions?

FWIW, i ride in central VA, lots of roots on technical oldschool type single track no big drops, lots of punchy climbs. I'm 150lbs and ride pretty hard.

Thanks for the input!

mtbr member
    Going from 30 to 25 isn't that bad on some 2.2" tires I had. Not sure about 2.4". Only thing I really noticed was a little less traction in corners, but that could also be because I added an extra 3 psi to account for the narrower rim under my 240lb. You might not need that. There's a guy that rides on trails I ride that's rocking 3.0's on 30mm rims, and he loves it. If he can do that, you can roll 2.4's on 25mm rims.
    And unless you absolutely need the light weight, avoid the blunt SS. I hear they ding like crazy.
    "a hundred travel books isn't worth one real trip"

mtbr member
    Oct 2015