XXL Bike for Tall Riders 6'6"?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2017

XXL Bike for Tall Riders 6'6"?

I'm just getting back into riding after being out of it a number of years, my last bike was a Specialized Stumpjumper M2 Pro size XL with 26" wheels, loved the bike but always felt too big on it and not totally comfortable.

So I'm rather new to the advent of the 29er but everything I'm reading is telling me to go with this wheel size due to my height along with XXL vs an XL Frame.

I'm 6'6" 250lbs, I have around a 34" inseam and have been looking around at XXL bikes but still have not test ridden or sat on one yet to tell the difference, plan to narrow down some brands and do this soon.

I'm not partial to Specialized but I do like their bikes and I paid nearly $2K for my bike when new I got it in 1998, I see the prices have risen substantially since the last time I was into it. I'm older now and not looking to do anything too crazy just general riding, some single track but no jumping or hardcore stuff, but realize with my size and weight rules out cheaper bikes and components along with durability.

My Stumpjumper had a mix of XT and XTR components which never gave me any problems. So I'm inclined to spend more, but really have a budget around $1,000 on the top end could go more if I feel it's worth it and was looking lower but I do not know the components that well. I see that XTR equipped bikes are way out of my price range. I know nothing of SRAM and Suntour back in the day was low-end.

I also would not rule out buying a XXL 29er frame and piecing together some used components or building slowly, but I never did this and rarely see XXL 29er frames for sale used or new, the ones that are end up being out of my budget.

So far I looked online at these brands:

Strictly interested in a HT only, no FS.

Trek X-Caliber Series
    Specialized Rockhopper Series
    Santa Cruz Highball 29 (way over budget)
    KHS BNT XXL (way over budget) know nothing of KHS