Want to try a 29er for free? Read this post! (spam?)- Mtbr.com
    Frame Building Moderator

Want to try a 29er for free? Read this post! (spam?)

Free frames. Yes, that's right. Keep reading.

Cloxxi - if this is too blatantly commercial, please delete the thread with my apologies. For what it's worth, I don't stand to directly make any money from this.

Ok, here's the situation. I really like 29ers. Some of you may remember me as the grumpy skeptic who used to pick arguments on this board (remember the "scientific study" that proved 29ers faster?) Well, the joke is on me, as I've been riding and loving my 29er for the last 4 months or so. I will never ride 26" wheels again, unless I'm on my dirtjumper. I still have my doubts about that "science", but I know what I like, and I love my 29" wheels. You can have 'em when you pry them from my cold, dead.... well, you get the picture.

Many of the people on this list post a question about where they can find a 29er to try, but it seems they are often discouraged from giving one a shot for one or more of the following reasons:
    1) Short on cash, can't afford frame, fork, wheelset, tires. Even going totally cheapskate, this usually adds up to at least $500 ($90 KM fork, $200 used KM frame, $100 cheap wheels, $50-100 tires/tubes).
    2) No 29ers available at my local shops, or my local shops won't let me try one except in the parking lot.
    3) Don't know anyone who has one they'll loan to me.

Here's my proposed solution. I build frames, previously as a hobby, and now as a full fledged business (though I'm not about to quit my day job). So: