Under the bus I go...- Mtbr.com
    Purveyor of Fine 29erness

Under the bus I go...

well here I am.
    I've been lurking here for a long time. Coincidentally, I have been planning to do this all along, it's just been the timing that has prevented me from doing it.
    My name is George. I live in VT, home to some of the funnest singletrack on the planet. I have done it all when it comes to bikes. I started out as a lowly basic assembler, and even worked my way up to Sales Manager of a high end manufacturer (that shall go nameless). I've been riding bikes in the woods on two continents for almost 23 years.
    I got bit by the bug not long after my job as "Sales Manager". I was sooooo burnt out on bikes bikes bikes, riding bikes, looking at bikes, having anything to do with bikes. Every time I looked at my bike I got sick, until I bought a totally rigid Surly KM, about 3 years ago. I was working for a very large snowboard company (love #2). The joy came back. I got soft and bought a fork, but I did go single speed, so is that a wash?
    Is this redemption? Or the entrepenurial spirit kicking in?
    Either way, all of you on this board have helped and inspired me to get the stoke back.
    After spending my last 2 years beating my head against the wall, I came to the realization that a} life is too short to miss out on the things that matter most for any reason, and b} just because someone hands you a pile of sh1t, you dont have to take it (thank you Henry Rollins!).
    I took control of my destiny again, gave my middle fingers to the "man", and decided to do my own thing.
    Which is to open a 29" specific bike store. I want to give back, to the very thing that helped me find my way again. I know most of you guys get it. I hope I can do you proud.
    And, for what it's worth,
    Here I am,
    (rock you like a hurricane)

Moderator Moderator