mtbr member
    Sep 2018

Trying to turn XC Bike into more of a fun trail bike

Hello,
    I am relatively new to mountain biking, grew up racing off road motorcycles (enduros, hare scrambles, etc) I bought a bike a few years back and have left it stock. I love riding.

I want to have more of a bike I can rip on rather than an aggressive XC race bike. I have a 2014 Scott Spark 930. Can I turn this bike into more of a fun trail bike? What can I do? or am I better off selling the bike and buying a more modern bike?

Can I put a fork with more travel on it (only 100mm now)? I was getting ready to upgrade my groupset to either NX Eagle Crank (1x12) and XT brakes, or a complete XT 1x11 groupset and brakes (opinions?). Also plan on buying a dropper post. What else can I do here, Help! I live in Utah and really want a bike that is more fun to ride and not so geared towards the XC racer.

thanks,

Nic

mtbr member
    Apr 2014
    I would add bigger, chunkier tires and a slightly wider bar (offset by a shorter stem if the reach is how you like it). I bet you could put a 120mm fork on it to get more suspension and slacken the head tube, but you'll be raising your bottom bracket, which doesn't usually help cornering so it might be a wash. If you really wanted to go wild, you could put an angleset on it and slacken the head tube angle. Offset bushings might be another option (if they work for the Spark) to slacken the head tube angle. It would slacken the seat angle as well, but that might not matter if the bike already has a pretty steep seat tube angle. I believe the Spark 930 was supposed to be pretty capable, so bigger, tougher tires and wider bars might get you a ways in the direction you want to go.