Suggest a bike for me- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Suggest a bike for me

Hi Everyone,

Iíve been reading the forum for a while now, tons of great information. Hopefully someone can help me out.

I am looking to get back into riding. Most riding will be done on local trails, nothing too technical. Iím not planning on doing any racing but I would like to join a local riding group.

I would like to buy a bike that I can ďgrow intoĒ as my skills improve. Iím not a complete novice but I havenít ridden in over 10 years. Iím willing to spend the money to get a solid bike that will last me several years (budget=$2000). Fit is an issue. Iím 6í5íí/210lbs/fairly athletic.

Still debating HT vs FS. However, Iím pretty set on getting a 29er. I am now considering a Specialized Stumpjumer Comp 29 or a Stumpjumper EVO 29. Any recommendations welcome.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by 4x4runner View Post
    i'm 6'3" and about 215. check out the scott scale 29ers. ridiculous value. (that's why i got mine)
    Coincidently I'm on the Scott website right now. Did you have to make any modifications to make the bike fit you? What size did you end up with?

mtbr member
    i'm 6'3" and about 215. check out the scott scale 29ers. ridiculous value. (that's why i got mine)

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jstntch View Post
    Coincidently I'm on the Scott website right now. Did you have to make any modifications to make the bike fit you? What size did you end up with?
    the bike fit me perfectly without any modification, i have a 34" inseam, i'm on an XL and a TINY bit stretched out, i'll be going with slightly shorter stem (maybe 80 or 90) so i'd imagine you'd be fine. it's a perfect xc type bike with a bit of a racey feel. and you really can't beat what you get for the price.

Happy Trails
    Apr 2010
    Consider a steel hardtail; stronger than aluminum, ride is less harsh. Love my Marin Pine Mountain and GT Peace 9er ss rigid.