mtbr member
    May 2007

Standover Clearance Issues

I'm new to the 29er thing. I'm coming off multiple "medium" sized 26ers I bought a "medium" 29er ht. The only issue I'm having is the standover of my 29er is dramatically higher than my last two 26er (1 a FS and 1 a HT). I feel like the bike fits me ok once I'm riding and in the groove, I'm feeling a the "squeeze" when I have to jump down off the seat when I stop.

Is this a common thing to 29ers? Should I really worry about tight standover clearance?

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    This is a pretty hotly debated topic here. Overall, the most important dimension should be the top tube length because it has the most influence on whether you are comfortable on the bike. For shorter folks, standover clearance is a concern, but how often do you have to straddle the top tube in an off-camber situation? If you're riding mostly XC and can anticipate when you step off the bike/don't have too many quick dismounts, you should be ok. That said, there are plenty of 29er frames with dramatically sloping or bent top tubes to provide more standover clearance. Some that immediately come to mind are Niners, Vassago, On-One, and others. Some that I see that tend to have less sloping/higher clearance: Specialized, Voodoo, Kona, etc.
    Enjoy the ride!

mtbr member
    May 2007

What is the opinion with this picture?

Here is a picture of me standing over the bike. I realize that it is not showing the actual amount of distance, but does this look acceptable considering the top-tube length feels good?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Standover Clearance Issues-standover.jpg  

loud hubs save lives
    Thats how i look and feel on both my medium 29ers. Over the last couple years i haven't had any incidents where i was even worried about standover clearence.