Specialized Camber vs Camber Comp- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Specialized Camber vs Camber Comp

First off, I'll admit I don't know much about mountain biking. I've been riding for a couple months on a specialized Hardrock Sport Disc.

I'm not 100% satisfied with the bike. I've bottomed out the front shock going down hill. The trail I ride often has a rooted down hill section and the roots kind of form steps. This seems to be too much for the Hardrock.

Also, the bike seems loose going down faster, rough, downhill sections....chain slapping around, wearing off paint.

I'm also not happy with the ground clearance. I'm constantly whacking the pedals on roots and rocks when pedaling.

Another thing I'm not totally satisfied with is the shifting. I don't know how to explain it, it just doesn't seem smooth.

That being said, I recently tried out a friends new Stumpjumper. It was an XL and I usually ride a L, but it gave me an idea of what a full suspension bike feels like.

I really liked the way the stumpjumper shifted. This really stood out to me.

At $3k, the stumpjumper is out of my price range so I started to look towards the Camber. What I'm toying with now is which version, the base model or the Comp. What are the major differences and is the Comp worth the additional $600-$800?

Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

mtbr member
    First of all, before you go throw down a couple grand on a new bike, there are a few things you can do to remedy some of the issues you're having with your Hardrock.

1. Bottoming out: What's your weight? If you're over ~180lbs, look into getting a heavier spring put into your fork. Or just get a new fork with a more adjustable air spring system (Rock Shox Recon or Reba, Manitou Tower/Minute). Also try to keep your weight back when going downhill.