smooth?- Mtbr.com

Thread: smooth?

mtbr member

smooth?

I read dudes comments here about being a "smooth" rider. I think I understand what that means but in my mind it's still a relative term.

Since I'm a relative noob with no racing experience under my belt yet, can someone with more mtber acumen than I have qualify that term for me or is it too subjective?

And if you're not a smooth rider, what are you? Clumsy? Awkward? Or just plain fugly?

(and i realize that this question may not be specifically a 29er forum issue, but i only hang out here because i only ride a 29er wherever i go.)

Waiting for Godot
    un-smooth.......like a guy who should wear glasses, but doesn't.

over cook every turn, last minute jumps with awkward landings and spectacular recovers(because i have so much practice in them).
    Out riding, leave a message

mtbr member
    To me, a smooth rider is one who "flows" over and around obstacles. He(she) sees the trail well and to picks the best lines. He weights or unweights, lunges or lifts with perfect timing to negotiate obstacles with minimal effort. He seems light. Makes it look easy. I try to be him.
    Use it, use it, use it while you still have it.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by phillabong
    I read dudes comments here about being a "smooth" rider. I think I understand what that means but in my mind it's still a relative term.

Since I'm a relative noob with no racing experience under my belt yet, can someone with more mtber acumen than I have qualify that term for me or is it too subjective?

And if you're not a smooth rider, what are you? Clumsy? Awkward? Or just plain fugly?

(and i realize that this question may not be specifically a 29er forum issue, but i only hang out here because i only ride a 29er wherever i go.)
    Smooth / finesse vs basher / thrasher.
    Riding over/around things vs through/into them.