Sliding Dropouts?- Mtbr.com
    Caged Animal
    Sep 2007

Sliding Dropouts?

Hello All:
    I have a major question on my mind - I am looking to buy a new steel ot ti hardtail frame and many of the models out there have sliding dropouts. I plan to only run it as a geared 29er and I am 195lbs and pretty tough on my rigs. My worry is all these slider configurations look frail, complicated, and like they could be prone to slippage?? For example Voodoo Dambala or Lynskey Ridgeline. Any views out there? Should I find a frame w/ standard vertical drops or should I be unafraid to go w/ sliders?
    Thanks!

mtbr member
    I have a pereira with paragon dropouts that I have been running geared for the past 10 months or so. They have been totally problem free. I check them occasionally to be certain they are tight. Other than that there has been no slipping or any other issues for that matter. I also like being able to fine tune the wheel base while running it geared.

Good Stuff!
    Last edited by Timmy; 02-06-2010 at 10:29 AM.

Kam
    A hopped on pop.
    sliders will work fine....many miles on my paragon slider equipped quiring and no slips or any other problems.

i have ran gears on the bike as well, without problems.

LOVE THAT PEREIRA, TIMMY!!!!!
    "forget kings...forget hadleys......they all have crap engagement. just run your bike fixed gear." - FoShizzle

mtbr member
    i don't think they would be more prone to fail, but if you are not planning on running ss i would go with traditional dropouts.
    check out the bandersnatch i am pretty sure the ridgeline vf model has standard dropouts.

local trails rider
    I have been OK on sliders on my singlespeed 26er.

If the bike is definitely going to stay multi-geared, I'd prefer to keep the parts count down and go for fixed dropouts. They'll stay put.

mtbr member
    It make sence to use blue locktite to keep bolts tight.

P.S. Some riders convert their multigear to ss for winter season.

mtbr member