mtbr member
    Nov 2010

Seat back or froward - I didnt think about the seat tube angle being so slack...

Hi All

The yelli screamy has a seat tube angle of only 70.5 degrees. I just set my seat up about the same as on my stumpjumper 29er FSR - mostlly pushed back a bit ang this gives me a good knee behind pedal - a little more glutes and hamstrings - and less quads and knees!

honestly it all feels fine, but im not a fit expert.

Any thoughts about moving the seat forward a bit to compensate for the slack seat angle?

thanks!

Plays with tools
    70.5 is supper slack, are you sure that's right?

If you had the forethought to pull measurements off your old bike try your best to mimic them on the Yelli. If not you'll have to start from scratch some what. Try to get your knee somewhere in the range of over the pedal spindle to 1cm behind. There are a few seat posts out their that you could run offset forward if you need that kind of adjustment.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by surftime View Post
    Hi All

The yelli screamy has a seat tube angle of only 70.5 degrees. I just set my seat up about the same as on my stumpjumper 29er FSR - mostlly pushed back a bit ang this gives me a good knee behind pedal - a little more glutes and hamstrings - and less quads and knees!

honestly it all feels fine, but im not a fit expert.

Any thoughts about moving the seat forward a bit to compensate for the slack seat angle?

thanks!
    When you say you set the seat up like you had it on your SJ, are you referring to how far back on the seatpost it's positioned, or how far back it is relative to the BB?

If you put the saddle relative to the BB, seattube angle won't make any difference other than changing where the rails are clamped. But, IF you set the saddle in the same place within the seatpost clamp, irrespective of where that is relative to the BB, then seattube angle changes everything.