Salsa Spearfish?- Mtbr.com
    NedwannaB

Salsa Spearfish?

Anyone have some experience with this frame? Good review in DR. Read their site discription of being geared towards endurance/epic rides.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    There are several reviews on the Spearfish, just google Salsa Spearfish reviews. They all say pretty much the same thing. Bang for the buck, endurance machine, no noticeable pedal bob, ... They all say they wish the suspension was more plush. The frame weight is pretty nice for a aluminum fs frame. I got one just waiting on the parts to show up. 918xc was very helpful to me. One of the guys said he sold his Tallboy for one and does not regret it at all. In a couple of weeks I will be able to tell you what I think of it.

NedwannaB
    Yah thanx it seems set for my type of riding. Have to get to supplier and lock in an order.

mtbr member
    Feb 2011

Salsa Spearfish

I've been riding a Niner Sir9 for 3 years. Got a Spearfish frame a few months back and just got it built up as a 1X9. Rode my 20 mile loop two days in a row. Fantastic ride, why I didn't do it sooner I don't know. The shock is high volume and just enough to temper the rough spots. Not much pedal bob at all. I also really like the PF30/BB30 compared to my old shimano BB. Also I was really impressed with the agility even with longer chainstays. Railing around the corners with no problem.

NedwannaB
    All these replays are sealing the deal. Thx

mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Spearfish geometry

I spent the day riding my brother's Vassago Jabber Wocky and felt like I was sitting very upright (my personal bikes are 26" cross country race machines). Anyone with a Spearfish feel upright compared to other rides. Ideally I'd like to get a Spearfish frame and build it to my taste. Is it possible to get somewhat of an aggressive feel but not as aggressive as 26" race rides?
    Hillslayer
    --------------------------------------------------