Ripmo - hands going numb- Mtbr.com
    trekker
    Jul 2005

Ripmo - hands going numb

I was able to demo one for a pretty solid 3hr ride and noticed my hands going numb half way through. I've been riding for many years and this was the first bike where I couldn't fix it based on saddle tilt/fore/aft/height. Looking around the forums, it seems to be a common problem with this bike.

FWIW, I've demo'd 8 other bikes and none had this problem. Has anyone with a Rimpo had this problem, then solved it? I don't rally want to buy the bike and proceed to play the expensive 2-month game of finding the right stem length/rise, or handlebar width/sweep. I'm 5'8" and rode the medium, if it matters.

mtbr member
    Sep 2014
    Did all the bikes you demo'd have a steep STA like the Ripmo? That can put a lot of weight on your hands if you ride terrain that is not pretty much all up or down. Extended flat seated pedaling is not it's strong suit. Also, the Fox 36 forks are not super plush on little stuff IMO. When I put an MRP Ribbon fork on mine, it was much plusher on the smaller stuff. But I never experienced any hand pain, I only ride it at trails that are pretty steep up and down w/o much flat.
    Yeti SB100
    Ibis Ripmo
    Ibis Ripley LS V3
    Ibis Ripley V4
    Ibis Mojo HD4
    Pivot 429SL
    Pivot LES SS
    Colnago C60 Disc

mtbr member
    Nov 2016
    I had this problem until I simply tilted my saddle upwards slightly, and moved it back a hair. Have you tried either one?

mtbr member
    Too many factors to narrow it down but Iíve definitely noticed with the new geo bikes there is increased pressure on the hands.

The steeper SA and longer reach are a game changer for extended climbs but with the shift in body weight something as simple as having the fork too stiff or uncomfortable grips could easily cause increased hand fatigue or numbness. Hopefully not an ongoing issue for ya.

mtbr member