Putting a 140-150mm fork on a 100mm Santa Cruz 2012 SL 29- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Putting a 140-150mm fork on a 100mm Santa Cruz 2012 SL 29

I got a Santa Cruz SL 29 in 2012. It was spec'd with a 100mm fork. The lbs swapped it out for an X-Fusion Slide RL2 29 with 120mm of travel.

The rear end is 100 mm so the bike is still well balanced with a 120mm fork. I am fascinated by the whole new school geometry thing and want to try it out. However, I am a graduate student and won't have the money to invest in a new school full suspension for awhile yet.

In the meantime I have been toying with the idea of a 140-150mm travel fork on the SC SL 29. I know it will slacken the head angle a bit, and raise the bb. I will probably want to lower the handlebars and go with a slightly longer stem (10-15mm).

This is an option I could take right away, versus buying a whole new bike several years from now. I wonder how it will affect the handling. It occurs to me that the steering will slow down slightly, which will be useful in technical terrain. However the increased bb height makes me think the bike would be less stable, although the change might be minimal enough that it wouldn't make a difference. As with many things bicycle related, sometimes you just don't know until you try it.

I have converted a fully rigid 24 inch wheel bmx cruiser with a 26" wheel in the back and a 27.5" wheel up front, with a 26" fork. So, it is not as if I am adverse to weird ride characteristics. The longer fork and higher bb are things I've gotten used to. However, comparing fully rigid 24" wheel bmx cruisers to full suspension 29er's isn't exactly apples to apples, given suspension sag, geometry differences, body position, etc.
    I have gotten used to the handling on that strange little bike. I guess it is all what one adjusts to. I rode a 26er with 74/74.5 head/seat angles, off-road, for years and loved it.