Hyperlite3009
    Dec 2018

Next Hardtail XC Bike

Hi Everyone!
    New to the forum. Excited to get some helpful advice. I started riding XC this past year (2018). I live in west Michigan so I really only have XC style trails to ride. We don't have any mountains. I bought my first bike this spring (Giant Fathom 2 29er). The bike has been a lot of fun. I competed in a few races this fall and I'm looking for the next step up. I've been looking a few options:

Sticking with Giant and going up to the XTC Advanced
    and
    Santa Cruz Highball

Wanting to go Carbon and hoping to keep it below $3500

Loved the 29er so sticking with that

Debating between a 1by system

Hardtail is all that is necessary in Michigan in my opinion so i'd rather spend money on better components instead of a full suspension and decent components.

If I'm missing anything please let me know (Again, ROOKIE here)

Thanks for any help!

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Lot a money. And Giant isn't really in the game for geo. Too steep head tube > at 70*. And not steep enough seat tube > 72*. And too short of reach at 423 for a L. I can't even ride an XTC. That bike needs a short torso and long legs. Make sure it fits. I'd put other bikes on your list and drop Giant.
    But it's not easy because light carbon hardtails for trail riding aren't as much of a priority for manufacturers. They make more money on the short travel fs bikes that everyone races on the World Cup XCO circuit. Like a Scott Spark. 120/120mm travel. 67.2* head tube angle. 73.8* seat tube angle. 460mm reach on a L. Space at the rear for 2.6 x 29 tire and more for the Fox 34 front fork. Scott could update the Scale with that geo. They haven't.
    The Chameleon is very close but not carbon light. Specialized carbon Fuse can run 2.6 x 29. Geo is 440mm reach for L.

mtbr member
    Giant xtc is a great race bike and a great value.
    My buddy just built up a Highball and is really enjoying it. Really nice looking frame.