New to mtbr, question- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

New to mtbr, question

Hey newbie here, so far love the site! I am new to mountain biking and trying to learn all that I can. There is a ton of useful (some not so useful!) info here. Anyways, I ride dirtbikes and sportbikes and thought this would be a fun way to get into shape. I have went to my LBS and test rode a few bikes, and have decided on a Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29er. I also rode a GF Cobia, which was nice but a little out of my price range. I've also rode a friends Trek 4500 26in too, and I think the Specialized just felt better, can't really explain why. I was originally thinking about a GF Marlin, but after how the Specialized seemed to fit better, changed my mind.

So do you think the Hardrock would be a good first mt bike in that price range? Will it hold up or will I be replacing stuff soon? Any info/advice is much appreciated.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    The Hardrock will be a great first bike, and the parts are generally durable and reliable. You shouldn't be forced to replace them any time soon due to wear of malfunction.

Good luck, and be safe.
    Voodoo Canzo 29er (sporting a Lefty) + Raleigh XXIX SS + Traitor Crusade SSCX + Lapierre Xelius XDJ

Out spokin'
    Quote Originally Posted by Triumph07
    Hey newbie here, so far love the site!...
    Hey Brutha, I've got a '96 XR400 (best trail bike EVER) plus an '06 1050 Sprint ST. Look me up whenever you get to Western Oregon. Just bring a set of wheels... it don't matter what kind.

Welcome to MTBR.

--sParty

P.S. Hey hoolie... would you mind giving us your opinion on replacing stuff? Thanks.
    Last edited by Sparticus; 12-21-2010 at 11:09 PM.
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

Oaktown Honkey on Strava
    Sep 2010

Replacing stuff.....

is part of the fun!

aka "SirLurkAlot"
    Mar 2010