New Hardtail Build Time!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New Hardtail Build Time!

I've been shopping around for a new hardtail to replace my 2012 Stumpy and while a few companies come kinda close, nobody sells what I want. I've been riding for a little over 40 years, mostly hardtails and mostly CC. I've always just bought my bikes off the shelf at shops, but I don't think that's gonna happen this time. Time to build one.

Almost none of this is set in concrete, but so far here's the direction I think I wanna go.

Of course the total will be something different, but for those things on which I haven't really decided, I've estimated what I will spend. But I expect to be pretty close to the $2500 mark once it's all done. I didn't really start out with a price in mind - just started plugging in stuff that I want to use & the number seems reasonable enough for what I'm getting. I've shopped around quite a bit in this price range and just can't find what I want in a pre-built bike. There are always tradeoffs. Seems like this is clearly the right path.

So a nice bike, although not a high end build, but I think going any further here on parts would get into diminishing returns territory. I'm not a particularly hard or fast rider - I just like to ride & am thinking all this will suit me well for years to come. No racing for me. I don't think I'd benefit from carbon. I'm not a weight weenie, so the extra weight savings would not be worth being worried about my frame if it struck something...plus that would add to the cost. Reliability is more important than weight. And cost - I do not want to get crazy there. I keep a few bikes around at any given time and am not a kazillionaire, so need to keep it sane there.