Need help! 2018 Transition Sentinel vs. 2017 Norco Sight- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2019

Need help! 2018 Transition Sentinel vs. 2017 Norco Sight

Hello MTBR community! Newbie here, well not newbie but first post I guess. Looking for some opinions.

So Iím in the market for a new bike. Iíve never owned a 29er this would be my first one coming off of a Knolly Warden 27.5.

A little bit about me I am 5 10 and 215 pounds. I donít ride as often as Iíd like but usually about twice a week so Iím not exactly lance Armstrong when it comes to climbs. I mostly ride all mountain style with the occasional full enduro/dh (maybe 5 times a year) my favorite trails consist of some loose rocky sections with chatter. Not necessarily big hits, like there isnít really any drops just mostly rocks, ruts and the occasional small boost jump.

Im looking for something that will ride great but still make it to the top without sucking all my energy (I know thatís what everyone wants) I come from a DH/dirt biking background so I definitely like to push it on the descents but Iím willing to give up some of the downhill fun in order to survive the climbs and be able to go on longer rides that my old 27.5 160 travel front and rear bike.

the bikes Iím looking at (and plan to buy within a week) are both used and both the same price.

2018 transition sentinel carbon stock GX build
    but with upgraded e13 carbon wheels
    lyrik rc with charger damper
    fox dpx2
    code brakes
    the bike has been well kept and minor scratches or chips

and

2017 norco sight Carbon custom build
    x01 components
    guide ultimate brakes
    lyrik 160 with push damper (stock comes with 140 fork)
    super deluxe coil
    onyx racing hubs (instant engagement)
    bike is overall pretty good shape but shows more signs of wear vs. the sentinel

ALSO I demoed a sb130 cause it seemed to be pretty close to these bikes and I have to admit I wasnít that impressed uphill or downhill to be honest.