mtbr member
    Jun 2014

My Gravity 29 Point 4

Dear all,

After a few rides I wanted to share with you about my new toy.

I am new to Mountain Biking but since I live in Tahoe many people told me I should definitely give it a try. So I bought a used 2001 Giant Recon SE (26"), rebuilt the bearings, did a tune-up and this enjoyed last year's season. This bike was obviously too small for me (21" frame but I am 6'2" with long torso) but it did the job and brought me tons of fun.

So early this year I was ready to pull the trigger on a more serious bike, although with my limited budget (initial was $400-500 max) I mostly considered used. After a few months seeing nothing my size at bike shops or on CL I started to consider buying new and extend the budget. My first consideration was the Airborne Guardian, but then I saw that Bikesdirect had lowered the price on this Gravity 29Point4.

I know that Guardian would probably have offered a better frame (and I really liked the deco of their bikes too!!) but considering the better components for less money (the Guardian was $700 plus taxes plus shipping) I went for the Gravity at $700 with no taxes nor shipping.

Here are the specs:
    Frame: decent enough for me
    Fork: Rock Shox Recon 29 Silver 100mm + Lockout + TK
    Crankset: FSA Comet 22Tx32Tx42T
    Bottom Bracket: FSA MegaEXO Sealed external bearing, 68mm
    Pedals: standard
    Front Derailleur: Shimano Deore SLX
    Rear Derailleur: SRAM X9 long cage for 30 Speed
    Shifters: SRAM X7, 30 speed
    Cassette: 11-36t 10 speed
    Chain: KMC DX10
    Rims: WTB SPEED DISC 29x32H, Black anodized Aluminum
    Tires: WTB PROWLER SL RACE, 29x2.1
    Brakes: Avid Elixir 3, 185mm Rotor front and rear
    Brake Levers: Avid Elixir 3
    Headset: CaneCreek VP-A42E Sealed Bearing threadless 1 1/8in
    Handlebar: Black Finish Aluminum 6061 T6, 610MM x 31.8mm
    Stem: Threadless 110mm x 10 degrees
    Saddle: WTB SpeedV