Isnt this tire stuff a relative?- Mtbr.com
    Compulsive Bike Builder

Isnt this tire stuff all relative?

As a 29er noob, I have a newcomers perspective when it comes to all of these tire discussions. This discussions are great, BTW, I am planning replacement tires for when mine wear out.

I have a Jones ACX rear and a WTB Nano front, which no one seems all that ga-ga about, at least to read recent threads. But as a 29er noob, these things are awesome compared to nervous twitchy 26ers. I think we have a scale that looks something like this (scuse my lame attempt at graphics):

- Traction +
    ----------------------------------------------
    ^ ^ ^^ ^ ^
    | | || | |
    Various 26" tiresVarious 29" tires

Of course, this is highly simplified and exaggerated (yes, trail conditions matter), and there is overlap in real life, but my point is the difference between one 29er tire and another is not nearly as great as the difference between 29ers and 26ers, as long as we stick to similar kinds of tires (no dh vs xc vs road comparisons, of course), no?

Last edited by DirtDad; 02-15-2006 at 01:43 PM.
    Disclaimer: ComCycle USA

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I think everyone is going coo-coo for coco puffs over the new treads because they are new. And in ways some of these new tires represent relatively significant developements for 29er tires. Until recently, most 29er tires sat pretty close to the middle of the fast(light)-cushy(heavy and bomber) continuum. This is probably somewhat the case, but the Exi is probably the beefiest 29er tire thus far and the fast track and karma are pretty racy and light for full knobs. Part of the giddiness may also stem from the fact that prior to those three tires, there were ~10 real 29er tires on the market. So that's a 33% increase in the number of options.
    Yes, its all relative, but we all like options.