Help with purchasing my first 29er- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2020

Help with purchasing my first 29er

Need help with purchasing my first 29 HT. I am new to the sport and have been spending a considerable time over the last few weeks reading and trying to learn about what direction to go here. I donít expect to be a hardcore Mountain Biker and will mainly be the weekend rider hitting some local trails around here. I also believe in paying for quality to cut back on problems, repairs, etcÖ. BUT, my budget is only around the sub 2K market. I have narrowed my search down to the Specialized Fuse Expert 29 which is a hair over budget but seems to be a great bike with solid parts. I also like the Specialized Fuse Comp 6Fattie. Are there any other comparable 29ers out there in this price point that would be a better buy? I know this can be somewhat subjective but thatís ok. I am looking for opinions of people who are experienced in this hobby and can lend some advice.

Appreciate any insight that you can provide.

mtbr member
    before you get too excited about any particular bike, be aware that bike shops across the country (world?) are sold out of just about everything. with all the businesses and stuff closed due to the pandemic, many people suddenly became interested in cycling and bought bikes off the shelves like ... toilet paper. it might be hard to find what you want.

WillWorkForTrail