mtbr member
    Feb 2019

New question here. Hardtail all-rounder for a heavy rider

Hello!

For the past year I've been eyeing multiple bikes for my local trail riding. I live in Lithuania so there's no huge mountains around but the trails I enjoy are pretty rooty, damp and long.

I'm looking for an all-rounder hardtail that can climb well, maintain stability at speed and, most importantly, support my 93kg (205lbs) weight while I thrash it around. My height is 184cm (6ft), my inseam 85cm (33.5in). I've been riding a hybrid bike with 450mm reach for the last 5 years and feeling quite comfortable on it.

First I decided to build my own bike using Specialized Chisel frameset, but after consulting the Frame forums here I understood that it might be too flexy, then I reverted back to one of my first choices - Commencal Meta HT AM Race 2019 (https://www.commencal-store.co.uk/me...19-c2x26307404). But the huge travel, formula hubs and powerspline BB has me second guessing.

My budget is around 2000eur.

Is there something you could recommend? Should I just got with the Meta?

P. S. Since I live in Lithuania all the nice Honzo's and Diamondback's and Santa Cruz's are out of my reach. I can buy a european brand like Commencal, Focus, Cube, Canyon, Merida etc.

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    Given the title, I expected you to be a much larger dude. I don't think 184cm/93kg necessarily warrants a special bike.

The Commencal looks nice, and I know the Chisel is really nice as well. The Chisel would be my personal choice as that kind of bike fits closer to the kind of trails I ride and like to ride. I also think, from a geometry standpoint, it would be a little closer to the hybrid you're currently riding. That is just a guess, though.

If you see yourself getting into some gnarlier trails, I'd definitely lean towards the Commencal.

But any chance you could ride them? I think that would help you make the decision more than anything.

mtbr member
    Feb 2019