Handlebar width? New 29er- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2017

Handlebar width? New 29er

Hi guys, I'm new to the 29er I just built (2018 XL Custom Rocky Mountain Instinct). Its an incredible bike (Fox 36 grip2, DPX2, DT 240 hubs/Carbon rims and X01 build). Coming from my 2011 Jekyll this thing is FREAKY fast, noticeably more so than my buddies XX1 Pivot 429.

So I'm dealing with all the new speed and wondering how I can help make things easier. I'm 6-4, lean and narrow shoulders. I have 800mm RF Next r 35mm riser bars. I love the bars etc but I wonder what impact dropping down to 780 or 785 would do? I'm new and crappy rider so I'm still getting used to leaning more into the bike on the berms and stuff like that. Wondering if the narrower bars would make that kind of stuff more natural or not. I hate to cut these things down, they aint cheap but I'm a bit ignorant to this part of the setup.

FWIW I don't ride a ton of gnar on a daily basis. Trying to work on jumping the jumplines and flow trails. Some chunk but its not constant or racing style.

Any advice or pros and cons?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Nov 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by svinyard View Post
    I wonder what impact dropping down to 780 or 785 would do?
    Move your grips inward by 20mm and find out?

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    Good idea but my grips have molded ends on them. Maybe I just get some that dont

Recovering Weight Weenie
    We're in an entirely new world.

10 years ago, my wife was riding 22" wide bars and I was on 26" bars.

Today, her's avg about 30" and mine 32".

My suggestion is to start as wide as you're able and cut them down incrementally to fit your size and pleasure.

Her new hardtail has the bars cut to 740mm. She likes this width. Her other bikes are at 750mm and 760mm.

Handlebar width?  New 29er-vzuzwt9orh-5%25qwlrynava.jpg

mtbr member