GT Avalanche 29er or Trek Marlin 6 or 7?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2013

GT Avalanche 29er or Trek Marlin 6 or 7?

Hi- I'm about to buy one of these bikes. I know they aren't anywhere close to high end, but looking for something to get started on and wanted opinions on which would be a great starter mtb. Any advice is much appreciated! I'm reading about the differences of the models but it doesn't yet make much sense to me as I'm new to the sport. The GT Avalanche 29er is on sale at Dick's for $499 and the Trek Marlin 6 or 7 model would be from the Trek dealer. Thanks for your help!

Bikesexual
    Links to the bikes would help btw.

At that price range, you will get similar components, the brand doesn't matter that much. So fit and the prettiest to get you going. Don't forget helmet and hydration.
    Surly Krampus
    All City MMD
    Kona Unit

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Marlin 7 is likely the nicest of the lot. Spend as much as you can afford. It'll be that much more pleasureable on the trail.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by clarkster View Post
    Hi- I'm about to buy one of these bikes. I know they aren't anywhere close to high end, but looking for something to get started on and wanted opinions on which would be a great starter mtb. Any advice is much appreciated! I'm reading about the differences of the models but it doesn't yet make much sense to me as I'm new to the sport. The GT Avalanche 29er is on sale at Dick's for $499 and the Trek Marlin 6 or 7 model would be from the Trek dealer. Thanks for your help!
    I forgot to put in links:

https://www.dickssportinggoods.com/p...vlnch29nrxxprf

https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/b...lin-6/p/23121/

https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/b...lorCode=orange

Co Springs